Adhering to the Erasmus University Charter and its political framework for maintaining good quality exchanges, LBUS is committed to managing foreign exchange programmes and internships with the norms found in the charter and using ECTS methodology. 60 ECTS credits represent the full work load of one academic year. The average input of 1600 working hours needed for studies of one academic year corresponds to 60 credits. One credit thus represents 26,7 hours of student workload. The credit system is based on a full student workload and is not limited to contact hours only. The working hours include lectures, practical work, seminars, exercises, independent study, written examinations, and research.

Through the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) the study period at a partner university in a foreign country is fully recognized at LBUS.

Credit transfer and accumulation are facilitated by the use of the ECTS key documents: Course Catalogue, Student Application Form, Learning Agreement and Transcript of Records, as well as the Diploma Supplement. Based on this documents the Validation Commitee from each Faculty approves the validation of courses and ECTS.

From this engagement stems a series of rights and obligations for students who take part in an Erasmus exchange programme:

The rights of an exchange student:

The obligations of an exchange student

Respecting the ECTS regulations guarantees the student academic recognition of courses and/or training in his or her LBUS curriculum of the study and training courses followed at the partner university. Furthermore, it gives transparency to the transfer of credits and grades.

The functioning of LLP/Erasmus programme within LBUS and all practical information on student, academic and administrative staff mobility (process on selection procedures, distribution and transferring of finances, and full recognition of study period abroad) is clearly defined in the internal Erasmus regulations which may be accessed online at the following links.


LBUS Erasmus Regulation 2012

Ministry Regulation for Mobility Recognition